Which Countries Drive On The Left?

If you’re planning to drive overseas it’s important to know whether you’re heading to a left-hand driving country or a right-hand driving country.

The majority of countries – nearly 75% – drive on the right. So it’s much easier to list the countries that drive on the left.

So Which Countries Drive On The Left?

Let’s take a look at which countries drive on the left on a continent-by-continent basis.

Please note that we don’t have the room here to list every country that drives on the left. If you’re heading to a country we don’t list below, and you’re unsure which side of the road you drive on, you can usually get reliable travel advice from The World Population Review website.

Which Countries in Europe Drive on the Left?

The UK is one of the only European countries to drive on the left, along with The Republic of Ireland, Malta and Cyprus. This also includes the UK’s Crown Dependencies, including Guernsey, Jersey, and The Isle of Man, who also drive on the left.

The Republic of Ireland shares a land border with Northern Ireland, so it would cause too many logistical problems for Ireland to switch to right-hand laws.

Which Countries in Asia Drive on the Left?

In total, 15 Asian nations drive on the left. These include:

  • India
  • Brunei
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Malaysia
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Indonesia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Japan
  • Thailand
  • East Timor
  • Macau
  • Hong Kong

Macau and Hong Kong can cause some confusion. Though they drive on the left in these countries, in mainland China, they drive on the right.

Which Countries in Africa Drive on the Left?

Some of the African countries that drive on the left are:

  • Kenya
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe
  • Lesotho
  • Botswana
  • Malawi
  • Zambia
  • Namibia
  • Swaziland
  • Uganda
  • Tanzania

Does Australia Drive on the Left? And What About Oceania?

Australia drives on the left, and as such, so do all of Australia’s territories – Christmas Island, Tasmania, Cocos Islands, and Norfolk Island. New Zealand and all its territories, including The Cook Islands and Tokelau, also drive on the left. As do the following nations:

  • Samoa
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Nauru
  • Tonga
  • Solomon Islands

Other nations that drive on the left include:

  • Fiji
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Tuvalu
  • Niue
Which Countries in North America Drive on the Left?
  • Anguilla
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • British Virgin Islands (as well as the US Virgin Islands!)
  • Montserrat
  • Jamaica
  • Barbados
  • Saint Lucia
  • Bahamas
  • Antigua
  • Barbuda
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
Why Do Most Countries Drive on the Right?

Nobody knows for sure how driving conventions developed. But there are some theories. It’s likely that the majority of countries drive on the right simply because the majority of the world’s population happens to be right-handed.

Tips For Driving Overseas

If you plan on driving overseas, it’s vital that you get up-to-date travel advice first, no matter which country you’re heading to.

It’s not just about which side of the road you drive on. You should also familiarise yourself with local driving laws, local signage, and on any paperwork you might need to legally drive in your destination country.

If you happen to be heading to Europe, we can help you, read our full guide to driving in Europe in a post-Brexit world.

Many breakdown companies offer European cover, which will provide essential assistance should your car breakdown overseas. Crucially, this level of cover means that you’ll more likely deal with mechanics and representatives who speak the same language as you.

You can add breakdown cover to your car insurance policy quote for complete peace of mind – get a quote today.

If you are a student planning a summer road trip with friends, find out more about our insurance policies for students.


Get your instant online quote today!


payment icons

Related Posts